Mexico celebrates a wide range of holidays

Statutory Holidays

Everyone is entitled to a paid day off (or extra pay if required to work).

When a statutory holiday falls on a Sunday, Monday is considered the holiday; if a statutory holiday falls on Saturday, Friday will be considered the holiday.


English Name

Spanish Name


January 1

New Year's Day

Año Nuevo

First day of the year

February 5

Constitution Day

Día de la Constitución

Celebrates the Promulgation of the 1857 and 1917 Constitutions

Observance: First Monday of February.

March 21

Benito Juárez's Birthday

Natalicio de Benito Juárez

Commemorates President Benito Juárez's birthday in 1806

Observance: Third Monday of March

May 1

Labor Day

Día del Trabajo

Commemorates the Mexican workers' union movements

September 16

Independence Day

Día de la Independencia

Commemorates the start of the Independence War by Father Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla in 1810

November 20

Revolution Day

Día de la Revolución

Commemorates the start of the Mexican Revolution by Francisco I. Madero in 1910

Observance: Third Monday of November.

December 1

Change of Federal Government

Transmisión del Poder Ejecutivo Federal

Every six years, when a new President is sworn in

Next observance: December 1, 2018

December 25



Christmas celebration; secular and Christian religious holiday

In addition to these dates, election days designated by federal and local laws are also statutory holidays.

Civic Holidays

Observed nationwide, but workers aren't entitled to paid time off


English Name

Spanish Name


March 18

Anniversary of the Oil Expropriation

Aniversario de la Expropiación Petrolera

Celebrates the Oil Expropriation by President Gral. Lázaro Cárdenas in 1938


Traditional and popular, but not official


English Name

Spanish Name